Response to Web 2.0 Tools

Kid Blog: The first resource from the list that caught my eye was Kid Blog. After exploring Kid Blog, I think it would be a very useful tool to use in the classroom. As I have really started to enjoy blogging through this course, I have realized it is something I would want to use in my classroom. WordPress is a great site but I think it could get confusing for students at times. Kid Blog is a site that is student friendly. This is important when teaching a class because it allows students to post their thoughts and opinions as well as the teachers. Kid Blog would be easily understood and simple for the student’s to navigate around. I think this would be a great resource because it is friendly to all the appropriate users, including teachers, students, and parents.

Teacher Tube: I like the idea of Teacher Tube because it is completely appropriate. YouTube is a great resource but at times can have inappropriate messages and videos. I have always been scared that I am going to open a link and some awful advertisement is going to pop up.  By using Teacher Tube, teachers are able to avoid this problem. I think this would be a resource I would use frequently as a classroom teacher because even now I often refer to You Tube for helpful information.

Brain POP: When I saw the catchy name BrainPOP, I immediately had to check it out. This would be a resource teachers could use to make learning fun. BrainPOP is an animated site that covers many different subjects. This could be a useful tool for students who have extra time. It would allow them to relax and have fun while at the same time still doing school work. They are able to choose a subject and also an activity to go with that subject when they are using BrainPOP. I also think this would be a good resource to use when students are struggling with a subject because it allows them to learn new information in a fun and interesting way.

Leave a comment